The leadership of Church of the Palms is provided by those individuals who are elected by the annual Charge Conference.

The individuals below will be the leaders of the church for 2018, as elected by the Charge Conference.

Church Council  
Pastor   Pete Berntson
Lay Leader*   Larry Sanders
Associate Lay Leader   David Voyles
Chair, Church Council*     Richard Robertson
Lay Member of Annual Conference*   Larry Sanders
Chair, Finance*   Bill Unger
Chair, Staff Parish Relations*   Ed Hazlett
Chair, Trustees*   Chick Mazon
Chair, Missions*   Jeff Harrison
Chair, Worship*   Tommy Wilkerson
Chair, Stewardship*   Richard Reeves
Chair, Evangelism*   Sandi Goodwin
Chair, Nurture*   Jeannette Jones
Chair, Spiritual Formation*   Scott Wiley
   Coordinator, Adult Education   Chick Mazon
   Coordinator, Youth   (open)
   Coordinator, Children    Teresa Danforth
Communications Coordinator*   Donita Todd
Treasurer*   Bob Lane
Recording Secretary   Sandy Collins
      *denotes voice and vote on Council  


According to The Book of Discipline of The United Methodist Church (paragraph 258.1) the Committee on Nominations and Leadership Development is to:

  • identify the gifts and strengths of persons in the congregation
  • develop their gifts and skills and nurture them in their mission or ministry roles
  • deploy persons according to their gifts and passion in areas of service
  • within the church, community, and world (see also paragraph 126.)
  • evaluate the effectiveness of their service and provide necessary training and support
  • monitor the progress of their development and celebrate their accomplishments and service

By the Book of Discipline, the pastor-in-charge of the local congregation is the chairperson of this committee. This group often meets throughout the year to share insights to the needs of the various missions and ministries, the gifts and graces of those in the congregation, and ways of enabling, equipping and encouraging leaders.

Chair   Pete Berntson
 Vice-Chair   Larry Sanders
Class of 2020  

Larry Sanders
Ann Gehlhoff
David Jenkins 

Class of 2021   Bill Johnson
Lynda Bialko
Class of 2022.     


Committee on Finance
Chair, Finance    Bill Unger
Pastor   Pete Berntson
Chair, Council                     Richard Robertson
Chair, Trustees   Chick Mazon
Chair, SPRC   Ed Hazlett
Chair, Stewardship   Richard Reeves
Lay Leader   Larry Sanders
Treasurer    Bob Lane
Financial Secretary   Al Couper
Member at Large   Bob Whyte
Member at Large   Frank Roland



Charge Committee on Staff Parish Relations (SPRC)                       
Class of 2020   Ed Hazlett
Barbara Lesniak
John Baxter
Class of 2021   Carole Bethel
Janette Wilkerson
Class of 2022  

Lay Leader   Larry Sanders
LMAC    David Voyles


Board of Trustees          
Class of 2020  

Rosanne Collins
Linda Robertson
Chick Mazon, Chair

Class of 2021  

Marsha Harrison
Sandy Collins
Tom Moore

Class of 2022   Mike Todd
Holly Higgins, Vice-Chair



Other Leaders                 
Church Historian   Phil Bright
Membership Secretary   Brenda Berg
Lay Member of Annual Conference (alternate)