guidesprc01In every United Methodist congregation, regardless of size, the Staff/Pastor-Parish Relations Committee (S/PPRC) is charged with building strong relationships between the staff and the congregation, and between the congregation and the district.

The S/PPRC has three primary responsibilities related to administration: pastoral and staff evaluations; maintaining a connection with the district superintendent; and communication among pastor/staff, congregation, and District Superintendent.

The specific tasks for the S/PPRC are listed in (ΒΆ258.2g) in The Book of Discipline of The United Methodist Church (with added suggestions from the Task Force on Clergy Health and the General Commission on the Status and Role of Women.)

  • Encourage, strengthen, nurture, support, and respect the pastor and staff and their families, including advocating for a healthy work/life balance.
  • Promote unity in the churches.
  • Confer with the staff on the effectiveness of ministry and impediments to effectiveness, including conflict of interest, and sexual misconduct. Confer with the staff about effective use of their gifts, skills, time, and priorities.
  • Conduct annual staff evaluations.
  • Teach the congregation about itinerancy, steps into ordained ministry, the value of diversity in staffing, and the ministerial education fund.
  • Write job descriptions for staff.
  • Confer with staff about continuing education and spiritual formation.
  • Confer with the district superintendent about the clergy leadership for the congregation.
  • Recommend staff positions to the church council.
  • Create written personnel policies and sexual misconduct policies for the congregation.
  • Consult on matters of staff support including housing, vacation, insurance, pension, and other matters outlined in the Discipline.

At Church of the Palms, the S/PPRC Committee, often referred to as just "SPRC," is led in 2013 by Elaine Graham. Other members of this committee include:

Class of 2013


Elaine Graham, Chair
Donna Bagley
Nancy Voegle

Class of 2014


Jeannette Jones
Mike Porter
Denise Spencer

Class of 2015


Al Kozak
David Welken
Anne Westervelt

Lay Leader


Larry Sanders

Lay Member of Annual Conference


Karen Ayers